Whispers Collection from Zoya — full review

Posted on

Disclosure:  These polishes were supplied by Zoya for review.

They’re here!  Just got my media samples of the Whispers Collection.  Without further ado (’cause I’m fresh out of ado):

Whispers set

Here are Zoya’s official color descriptions:

  • Cala – ZP823: A soft nude with a kiss of warmth that will flatter most skin tones.
  • April – ZP824: A light, rosy toned neutral that is a modern take on blush.
  • Eastyn – ZP825: A subtle grayed grape that is more interesting than mauve and gives a modern alternative that is ever so wearable.
  • Misty – ZP827: An easy to wear taupe that is an updated version of gray with just a touch of green to make it daring.
  • Ireland – ZP826: A uniquely wearable green that is muted enough to make it subtle yet still interesting. This green is well balanced between blue & yellow so it’s flattering on all skin tones.
  • Lake – ZP828: A softened blue that gives the effect of serene water with just a hint of vibrancy to preserve its luminosity.

All pictures show two coats of polish with no top coat and are photographed under indirect outdoor light.

Whispers Cala

Cala is indeed nude.

Whispers April

April is rosier than Cala, but still what I’d call a neutral.

Whispers Eastyn

Eastyn, hmmm.  Looked more lavender in the bottle but appears more gray on my nails.

Whispers Misty

Misty.  Well, Zoya’s description of taupe with a grayish and greenish tint is spot on.  What to say, what to say.  We had walls painted this color when we moved into our current house.

They were the first to go.

Whispers Ireland

I’m glad they gave the name Ireland to this green.  It’s a pretty pale sage that would probably look better on warmer-toned skin but I still like it.

Whispers Lake

And Lake for the blue.  Ooh, now we’re talkin’!  I love this one, and pale blues often look chalky on me but I don’t think Lake does.  It’s rather a grayish-blue and I think it looks great.  Lake is definitely my favorite of the set.

I found the formula to be a bit thin and streaky for all six polishes.  Dry time was fast but not unusually so.

This is an appropriate set for late winter and early spring, a calm bridge between the jewel tones of winter and the brighter pastels of spring.  Will it be to everyone’s taste?  No, but then nothing is.  Frankly, this has been a hard collection to review because I feel few of the colors look good on my skin tone, and I don’t work in an office or situation where such muted neutrals would be just the ticket.  You may have lighter/darker/different skin, though, and love them.  I hope so!

I’m also prejudiced because I think the polish world in general has waaaaay overdone neutrals in the past year or two, and they are not my cup of acetone.  How similar is Whispers to last year’s Naturel Satins?  The finish is different, glossy vs. satin, and while the two collections are by no means duplicates, some of the shades are similar.  I will be posting comparisons later in the week.

AVAILABLE NOW FOR PRE-ORDER at ZOYA.COM

**BIG5FREE, TOXIN FREE: Zoya Nail Polish Formula contains no formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, dibutyl phthalate, toluene, or camphor.

But hold the phone, I mean the mouse!

Zoya is having a big sale on this set, even though it’s brand new.

unnamed

Get all six shades now at a special pre-order price of just $33, plus free shipping!  Orders will start shipping 1/15/16.  See details below and click HERE to pre-order the collection sampler.

Pre-Order the NEW Whispers Sampler
Special Price $33 (Original Price $54)
NOW – 1/3 (11:59pm EST)
Use Code: PSST

Terms & Conditions:
Valid online only at www.zoya.com through 1/03/15 (11:59pm EST).  Not valid in conjunction with other coupons, codes or promotions.  Continental US & Canada ONLY.  Art of Beauty is not responsible for incorrect addresses, credit card entry errors, web related issues or any errors associated with declined credit cards.  Returns or exchanges of promotional items not permitted.  Code must be entered at time of purchase – code cannot be reinstated on canceled orders.  Please allow up to 4 weeks for processing if volume warrants it.

Read all the fine print and rules.  It’s a great deal but amazingly it will not work if you try to use an expired credit card, etc.

Disclosure:  These polishes were supplied by Zoya for review.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Blogger Swatches and Reviews of Zoya Whispers Collection - Zoya Blog

  2. Pingback: Whispers Collection from Zoya — comparisons | The Silver Nail

  3. My, but that is a tempting offer from Zoya. I almost want to take them up on it, but I am certain I have colors that are close enough dupes in my stash already and they are such snoring boring shades. Not that they aren’t pretty it’s just the same ol’ same ol’. Every year the transition from winter to spring we see these same light neutral/nude shades and pastels.. I’m glad you mentioned the formula as that has helped prevent me from clicking on this fantastic offer from Zoya.

    Reply
  4. Your description of Misty had me cracking up 😀 My newish house also has taupe-green walls and I’m deciding on the new paint colors now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

