The Christmas Tag

Posted on

Other bloggers are doing this and I thought it would be fun, too.  Feel free to chime in with a comment about anything Christmas that you’d like to add!

Off my meds

Favorite Christmas movie?

If I could only pick one, it would the 1985 made-for-TV version of A Christmas Carol.  Although George C. Scott didn’t even attempt a British accent, his Scrooge alternately makes me angry, sad, and filled with pity, and brings me to tears when he pleads with The Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come.  This is one version where Tiny Tim actually looks like he’s dying.

Have you ever had a white Christmas?

Many!  Growing up in eastern North Carolina I never had one but I’ve lived almost all my adult life in western Montana and we have one every year.  We just got another 8 inches of the fluffy stuff last night!

Favorite Christmas song?

One of my relatively new faves is Bells Are Ringing by Mary-Chapin Carpenter.  It makes me understand that even if I didn’t have presents and a tree and all that “stuff,” I would still have Christmas in my heart.  Corny but true.  Here’s a YouTube link:  http://youtu.be/wDYnujUdoFw

Do you stay in your PJs or dress up for Christmas?

I stay in my robe until late in the morning and then wear my usual casual clothes around the house.

If you could buy one person a present this year, what would it be?

I’d wish I was ginormously rich and could buy my kids each a house.  Hey, go big or go home.

Do you open presents Christmas Eve or on Christmas Day?

We always open one on Christmas Eve and save the rest for the next morning.

Have you ever built a gingerbread house?

Yes!  When I was in the Big Brothers/Big Sisters program, my Little Sister and I made one a couple of years in a row for a show at the mall.  Very fun!  I remember one had a University of Montana theme and was called “Merry Grizmas.”

Any Christmas wishes?

Good health for all the family members.  Some recent events have made me realize that that is truly the best gift of all.

Favorite Christmas scent?

EVERYTHING.  ALL OF IT.  Snow, evergreen trees, peppermint, baking cookies, hot chocolate.

Favorite Christmas gift or memory?

When I was about seven years old I wanted a Cheerful Tearful doll more than anything.  I can still remember walking into the living room that Christmas morning and seeing her sitting on a chair with her arms reaching out to me.  My parents didn’t even wrap her so I could see her right away.  Also, my mother, world’s best seamstress, made an entire wardrobe of clothes for her too — pajamas, everyday clothes, a fancy outfit.  I still have the doll and all the clothes.

What tops your tree?

An angel. She’s even older than I am so we treat her with extra TLC.

**************************************************

Share memories and likes, and Merry Christmas!

5 responses »

  1. What a great post. Thanks for sharing and Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    Reply
  2. Thank you for the link to “Bells Are Ringing”…..beautiful! Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  3. Oh that memory of receiving the Cheerful Tearful doll sounds wonderful! (I just googled it and that’s so neat her face turns from smiling to crying with moving the arm!) And that’s so awesome of your mom to sew her a wardrobe too! 🙂

    Reply
  4. My favorite movie is A Christmas Story. My favorite tv program is How The Grinch Stole Christmas, the animated original. Merry Christmas to you! Have a wonderful fun filled safe holiday. May God bless you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

