Spring? Spring.

Posted on

Having a dearth of other news to post, and no new polish I want to dig out and swatch today, here’s some Spring 2016 news and pictures.  Yes, we just got our first snow of the late fall/early winter, but the fashion world lives and operates in the future.

The big twelve-polish set for next spring from OPI is called New Orleans, keeping with their country/city/region theme for such sets.  Cut the chatter and let’s see:

OPI new orleans

OPI new orleans display

Color names:

  • Let Me Bayou a Drink
  • Humidi-Tea
  • Suzi Nails New Orleans
  • I Manicure for Beads
  • Spare Me a French Quarter?
  • She’s a Bad Muffuletta!
  • Got Myself into a Jam-balaya
  • Crawfishin’ for a Compliment
  • Take a Right on Bourbon
  • I’m Sooo Swamped!
  • Rich Girls & Po-Boys
  • Show Us Your Tips!

Typical groan-worthy and sometimes fun puns.  I’m only disappointed there’s no reference to beignets!

I think this looks like a great set, very spring-like.  Loving the blues, which, now that I think about it, also sounds very New Orleans.  There will be a mini set of four which I’m liking except for the grasshopper green, a dreadful shade for my skin tone.

OPI new orleans minis

I know, I know, I’m rushing the season.  Enjoy fall and winter first!  Colors, names, etc. are subject to change.  Release date unknown.

4 responses »

  1. thanks for the photos. You are right, some of the puns are cringe worthy. I love the gorgeous model pictured in this very New Orleans backdrop. IMO, the city themed OPI collections are a great chance for them to show more multicultural faces and skintones- and to show off the polish shades that are universally flattering. My only wish would be for some more pigmented, color saturated shades- New Orleans is known for rich foods, Mardi Gras, nightlife, culture, hot jazz- the pastels are not really evoking any of that for me.

    Reply
    • Excellent point, Lorraine. I think New Orleans would’ve been better suited for a Summer launch where rich, bright colors could be showcased.

      Reply
  2. I wish they would’ve done a Mardi Gras inspired glitter, like some Indie sellers have done. Not that I’m a huge fan of glitter but I feel like they wasted a perfect opportunity to do a fun glitter. Thanks for the pictures!

    Reply
  3. Too soon, OPI. Too soon. Haha!
    I think OPI missed a big opportunity by using New Orleans as a Spring Collection. Wouldn’t it have been fab as a vibrant and vampy fall collection? Or a mini summer or holiday collection? Boo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

