The first of Zoya’s Winter 2015 Matte Velvets!

Posted on

Disclosure:  These polishes were provided by Zoya for review.

I was slobberingly following the FedEx progress of my Winter 2015 Matte Velvet Collection media samples from Zoya.  They arrived too late today for me to do a complete review, but I had to show you at least one!

Here’s the whole set.  Note the pretty frosted glass bottles.  That way, you can tell at a glance which of your Zoya polishes are matte or satin versus the usual cremes, shimmers, and glitters.

MV15 bottles

Left to right, with Zoya’s official descriptions:

  • Aspen – a sparkling arctic white with a micronized diamond pearl fleck
  • Sue – a soft champagne gold with a multi-hued oyster shell pearl fleck
  • Amal – a classic crimson red with a ruby red pearl fleck
  • Honor – a true emerald green with a tone-on-tone emerald pearl fleck
  • Yves – a deep sapphire that’s midway between indigo and royal blue with a blue pearl fleck
  • Iris – a deep amethyst with a fuchsia pearl fleck

I was most anxious to get my mitts on Sue, partly for the color and partly for the name.  Zoya has had a Suzanne in the past (now discontinued), and between that and Sue, that’s the closest I’m going to get to my real name of Susan.  Here’s Zoya’s picture of Sue in action:

Zoya winter mattes Sue

A lovely shade of champagne gold, isn’t it?  Yet when I opened my box of six polishes, at first I thought I’d been sent two of the white Aspen by mistake.  My bottle of Sue is very light; I’d call it an ultra-pale grayed gold or a white gold.  Beautiful, just not what I was expecting.

Sue had no particular smell, to which I say “Thank goodness.”  Some mattes smell terrible, but not Zoya’s Matte Velvets.  The formula was very smooth and good but I needed four coats because after three I could still see my nail line.  This is fairly common with such light shades; I expect the darker ones to only need two or three.  The polish self-leveled well and brushstrokes were not an issue.

Under indirect cloudy outdoor light and then with the flash:

MV15 Sue outd

MV15 Sue flash

I apologize for the tighter-than-usual cropping on my photos but I have a bad cut on my middle finger, and trust me, you don’t want to see it.

You can see that my swatches appear much lighter than the Zoya promo pic.  Sadness.  But wait!  Perhaps I could put a coat or two of Sue over a darker gold creme another time.  Sue is still a very pretty shade, just a bit surprising.  I do like that it looks quite wintry and classy — would be perfect for New Year’s Eve.

The point of wearing a matte polish is to have it look, well, MATTE, but as I always say, you can play with it however you want.  Putting a clear shiny top coat over Sue, same lighting conditions:

MV15 Sue top coat outd

MV15 Sue top coat flash

Wow, that really brings out the sparkle!  It’s hard to tell from these pictures, but “oyster shell pearl fleck” is a great description — there are very tiny flecks of shell pink and blue.

I don’t have any dupes for Sue.  The closest I have is another Zoya polish I loved, the PixieDust called Tomoko.  PixieDusts, however, have a textured, sand-like finish, and even the pale Tomoko is more gold than Sue.

Tomoko

As always, Zoya nail polish formula contains no formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, dibutyl phthalate, toluene, or camphor.  Available NOW at Zoya.com and at salons and some retail outlets.  SRP $10 each.

Disclosure:  These polishes were provided by Zoya for review.

9 responses »

  1. But wait, I thought you weren’t getting press samples? I’m so glad you did! Gosh, these are all so pretty in their little frosted bottles! I’m kind of kicking myself (gently) for getting Posh and Veruschka last year, because I think these new red & green mattes beat those by a sliver, especially the green. I can’t justify getting Amal and Honor, but I *can* justify getting Yves, Aspen and Sue during their next sale. I hear you on the name thing — to my knowledge, no “Mary” exists in Zoya’s line, which is an outrage, I say. 😀

    Reply
  2. That Other Jean

    Very pretty, but I agree with you–not as pretty as the promo pic. I do like the fleck though, although it, too, seems different from the company’s illustration.

    Reply
  3. Well, my earlier post didn’t show up. Which is not surprising. Just got my 1st smartphone, and posted it from my phone. Oh brother. I love it, but it’s kind of confusing. After all, I’m 62, and I think I’m falling further behind when it comes to any kind of technology. Anyway, it was short. I love Sue, but am surprised how white it looks. I like it better with a shiny coat. Thanks for the post.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Winter 2015 Matte Velvets from Zoya – Part 2 | The Silver Nail

  5. It says there are 5 responses, but I see only 4. Trying to line up reading comments on my laptop with the ones on my phone. Maybe I have it wrong. Going to read today’s post now. I love comparisons.

    Reply
    • Re: the number of comments — I have approved all the ones I’ve received, and one is a “pingback,” or link to it from another post. Hope you like the swatches and comparisons so far. Will finish up today (Thursday).

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Winter 2015 Matte Velvets from Zoya – Part 3 | The Silver Nail

  7. Pingback: Blogger Swatches and Reviews of Zoya 2015 Matte Velvets - Zoya Blog

Leave a Reply

