Let’s Chunky Dunk some more

Posted on

A few weeks ago I saw a four-piece set of chubby lip crayons from Nyx Cosmetics at the local Ulta.  Since I really liked the one Chunky Dunk Nyx lip crayon I’ve tried, Rum Punch, and have become enamored of lip crayons in general, I was tempted.  But I put it back and decided to think about it.

Nyx chunky set

I searched out swatches and decided that yes, worth buying.  The full name of the set is Chunky Dunk Hydrating Lippie 4 Piece Collection XOXO and it’s $14.99 in-store and online, and you can use Ulta’s coupons on it since Nyx is not a prestige brand.  With each Nyx lip crayon now having an SRP of about $6.50, a set of four full-sized ones for$14.99 works out to $3.75 each.  I was able to use a 20% off coupon which brought the price down to a fantastic $3.00 each.

The set has a good color variety; it’s not all pinks or all reds.  There’s a pink, a red, a nude/beige, and a warm brown.  All the Chunky Dunk crayons are named after drinks and these are:

  • Pink Bikini
  • Cherry Smash
  • Hibiscus Tea Punch
  • Caramel Martini

Nyx chunky set2

Nyx chunky set3

In some lights Caramel Martini looks purplish but it really isn’t.

As I’ve mentioned before, I love that these twist up and don’t require sharpening.  Trying to sharpen soft makeup crayons can bring me to tears.  Can you say, “What a mess, what a waste!”???

Here are some quick swatches on my inner arm, under indirect outdoor light and then with the flash.

Nyx chunky swatch outd

Nyx chunky swatch flash

In the second swatch picture, the two darker colors appear to settle into the fine lines, but I don’t see that at all on my lips which are much darker/redder than my very pale inner arm skin.

On my lips these feel very light and moisturizing, not dry at all, with no scent or taste.  These are basically gloss crayons and are not heavy opaque lipsticks.  They’re for when you want a sheer wash of color that’s not drying.  Can’t wait to wear Caramel Martini with some fall sweaters!

One response »

  1. Those look nice! I just got one of the Elf lip gloss crayons in a shade called Sangria Starters, which is a pretty reddish brown shade. Perfect for fall. Not very pigmented when I swatch on my hand but shows up really nice on the lips.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

