The Focus Collection from Zoya — full review

Posted on

Disclosure:  These polishes were provided by Zoya for review.

I had fun swatching the shimmery Flair Collection yesterday.  Today, let’s Focus!

ZP_FOCUS_GROUP SHOT_RGB

Charli (ZP807) – dusty taupe with a hint of green
Desiree (ZP806) – classic sable brown
Hannah (ZP805) – clear, classic red
Janel (ZP804) – deep warm red
Lidia (ZP803) – rich eggplant
Sia (ZP802) – true royal blue

All the Focus polishes are cremes.  Unless otherwise noted, all swatches are under indirect smoky outdoor light and are two coats, no top coat.

Focus bottles

Let’s get Charli out of the way first.  I’m guessing this grayish-brownish-greenish shade is considered stylish, but it’s not my style.  With apologies to Dr. Suess, I do not like it in a house.  I do not like it with a mouse.  I do not like it here or there.  I do not like it anywhere.

Focus Charli

It had a good, smooth formula, and I think if you worked in an office it could be a trendy neutral.  Bonus:  covered well in one thick coat!

Desiree is, as the description says, a sable brown.  Lovely.  Not bronze-toned, it has a slight grayish tint but is not overly grayed.

Focus Desiree

Hannah?  Bright medium red, clear and slightly warm-toned.  Excellent formula and almost but not quite a one-coater.

Focus Hannah

Janel is a brick red that doesn’t lean orange and it’s not muddy.

Focus Janel

Deep eggplant purple describes Lidia well.  It’s not blue-toned, and if I had to say it leaned a certain way I’d say slightly red or, more accurately, plum.

Focus Giada

Ooh, love it.  Dark.  Mysterious.  Inky.

Sia is a bright royal blue, and Zoya particularly warns about staining with this polish, so be sure to use a good base coat.  Blues seem especially prone to staining.

Focus Sia

Sia is such a bright blue that I think it makes my skin look yellowish.  Too bad, because it’s another one in the collection that was almost a one-coater.  Looks more summery than autumnal to me.

My favorite is the purple Lidia, and I also like Desiree and Janel a lot.  The two reds, Hannah and Janel, are pretty but not unique.  I really wish Zoya didn’t have two reds so close in color to each other in the same collection.  Couldn’t one of them have been much darker or persimmon red?  All six cremes had an excellent formula, very smooth and glossy.

Usually I take weekends off from blogging but I’m going to try to post lots of comparisons in the next few days, the new Zoyas to old Zoyas.  I don’t have every shade the company ever made, but I’ll do my best!

ZOYA IS THE HEALTHY COLOR OF FASHION!  The Focus and Flair Collections are shipping NOW!

$9 (US) Available on Zoya.com and at finer salons and spas.

*BIG5FREE: Formula contains no formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, dibutyl phthalate, toluene, or camphor, and is vegan-friendly.

Disclosure:  These polishes were provided by Zoya for review.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Blogger Swatches and Reviews of Zoya Focus & Flair - Zoya Blog

  2. I generally don’t buy cremes anymore. Too hard for my arthritis/MS nerve pain hands to apply. But, I agree I do not like Charli. I do not like it Sam I am. And, of course who doesn’t love Dr. Suess. Alot of wisdom there. And, I also agree that the 2 reds are too close together. I’m looking forward as usual to your comparisons. On a side note, I’m undecided on the new Naked Manicure collections. Not convinced of the difference between them, and my usual base coat, giving me enough incentive to buy. Thanks. Suzy

    Reply
    • Suzy, on YouTube Jessfacepolish, has a really good review on the naked manicure line. She really explains the difference between them and demonstrates them.

      I’m not as crazy about the creams in this collection, hopefully the shimmers will wow me.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Comparisons for the Focus Collection from Zoya | The Silver Nail

  4. Pingback: NEW Satin trio from Zoya! | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

