Happy National Lipstick Day!

Posted on

In the parade that is silly and obscure holidays — National Peanut Butter Fudge Day, anyone? (November 20th, if you’re curious) — today is National Lipstick Day.  How did you celebrate it, did you wear lipstick?  Buy it?  Covet it?

If you need another fix, here are some quick swatches of a quality lipstick that was my favorite price, free.  A few weeks ago I got a postcard in the ol’ snail mail from Ulta.  One of my member benefits was that if I took the card into an Ulta store, I’d get a free Clinique lipstick.

Yep, that was it.  Didn’t have to buy anything, didn’t have to take a survey, nothing.  And it was a full-sized lipstick, not a miniscule travel size.  Let’s look!

My Ulta sales associate reached into her Box o’ Freebies and pulled out the shade All Heart.  There were other colors but I was very content with All Heart.  I no longer see it on Ulta’s web site, but it’s from the relatively inexpensive line called Long Last Lipstick and comes in the familiar Clinique light green case.

All Heart case

All Heart label

I don’t see the weight marked on the label, and as you can see it’s stamped “Not For Individual Sale.”  However, I think this line of lipsticks usually costs about $8 U.S.

All Heart is a beautiful shade of darker-than-pink-lighter-than-red, which I love.  It has a very faint shimmer that keeps it from being a plain creme, but it’s by no means glittery.  What I love most about it is how it feels.  When I was applying it, it felt so light that if I hadn’t been looking in a mirror, I wouldn’t have been able to tell any of it was getting on my lips.  Honest, it’s that weightless, yet the pigmentation is great.  It wore well for hours (went out to dinner so I eventually wiped most of it off) and left a very light stain after removal.  It has virtually no smell or taste.

Here’s an All Heart swatch under indirect outdoor light, with the flash, and under artificial indoor light:

All Heart outd

All Heart flash

All Heart indoor

Can you see how different it looks in each light?  And even though that last lighting makes my skin looks like I have malaria, the lipstick still looks great!

2 responses »

  1. I was just thinking recently that I would love a new lipstick. But, thinking maybe something at Walgreens where I can return it if the color turns out to be either something I just don’t like, or a color too similar to something I already have. I like those crayon type lipsticks. I have a few. Revlon Jam Twist, and 2 I picked up at Walgreens for really cheap, some brand called Jordana. I got them mostly for my grandaughters. I like how easily they are to apply, for me at least. But, then again, I also would like to buy some that do leave a bit of a stain. So, if I’m not able to re-apply, I’ll still have some color on my face/lips. I love, love, love my Revlon’s, but I’m in the mood for something new. I’ll have to re-visit any of your past posts to start. I am really, really so forgetful lately. Well, you have me thinking lipsticks now. Something to think about while waiting for the Zoya Fall Collection to come out. LOL Happy late Lipstick Day. Suzy

    Reply
    • Suzy, if you could remember all my past posts, you’d be doing way better than me! I forget what I’ve written myself. So much info, so many posts. 🙂

      At any rate, an FYI for you — one lip crayon that I’ve found myself reaching for over and over this summer is the one from Nyx called Rum Punch, which I reviewed here: https://thesilvernail.wordpress.com/2015/01/15/how-about-a-nice-flaming-rum-punch/

      From what I recall, you and I tend to like the same colors of lipstick, generally speaking, so you might like this one and it’s budget priced. All the crayons in the Chunky Dunk line are named after drinks, and the lighter pink Watermelon Cooler looks pretty too. Don’t know if some Walgreens carry Nyx because my local one doesn’t. Have fun!

      P.S. I am DYING for Zoya news — hopefully very soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

