Blurred Lines… not THAT Blurred Lines!

Posted on

Disclosure:  This product was supplied by Nonie Creme Colour Prevails for review.

Continuing my week of testing with items from the new company Colour Prevails (CP), today I have a CC creme.  It’s just what the doctor ordered for these hot summer days.

CP Blurred Lines

It’s called Blurred Lines.  Not THIS “Blurred Lines,” hey hey hey!

Colour Prevails Blurred Lines CC Creme is a product that combines light coverage with sunscreen.  Here’s the Walgreens web site description:

All-In-One Creme

    Promotes Even Coverage
    Helps Hydrate Skin
    Oil-Free Formula

All-in-one creme in a convenient pump dispenser that delivers coverage that’s soft, even, natural; virtually undetectable.  Skin conditioning ingredients and emollients to hydrate the skin and improve its appearance.  Antioxidants and broad spectrum sunscreen that protect the skin from environmental damage caused by the sun and pollution.

This product is not tested on animals.

Made in Italy

Apply with fingertips starting in the center of the face.  Blend well.

Apply generously 15 minutes before sun exposure.  Children under 6 months of age:  Ask a doctor.  Use a water resistant sunscreen if swimming or sweating.  Reapply at least every 2 hours.

CC cremes can be confusing, as can BB cremes.  I first talked about them here.  Many companies claim to have BB or CC cremes but they’re really nothing more than tinted moisturizers, which, if that’s what you want, fine.  But don’t tell me something has a dozen benefits when it doesn’t.  CheapbrandsImlookinatyou.

The CC in CC cremes usually stands for “color correcting,” but not in the sense that green cancels redness or purple hides sallowness.  It’s more to do with evening out skin tone due to its priming, moisturizing, and sunscreen properties.  Let’s look at the active and inactive ingredients for Blurred Lines (click on any photo for a larger view).

CP Blurred Lines info

CP Blurred Lines info2

It seems to lean heavily towards being a sunscreen and has both chemical sunscreens (the octinoxate, octocrylene, and avobenzone) and physical or more traditional ones (zinc oxide and titanium dioxide).  Some people refuse to wear anything with the chemical sunscreens which is their right.  I’ve used them for years especially on my hands via Neutrogena products and am OK with them.  FYI, I have zero sun spots/age spots on my hands.  There are arguments both for and against these ingredients but it’s up to the consumer.

Note that first inactive ingredient is good ol’ water, for moisturizing.  I believe dimethicone is a silicone-based smoothing agent, and it’s in many cosmetics.  I’ve used skin primers that had so much silicone in them that my face felt like a piece of plastic.  Not Blurred Lines.  Right after application and many hours later, my skin felt moisturized and smooth but not artificial, to the point that I kept patting my own face.  I know, I know; I shouldn’t do that!  But it felt so nice.

I have normal-to-dry skin so don’t know how it would perform on oily skin.  I’ve used a couple of Korean BB cremes in the past year and I liked them well enough although they smelled odd and had a grayish cast to them.  That tone was not working for me this summer since I’ve gotten a little more color in my face.

Here’s the Blurred Lines dabbed on the back of Ye Olde Hand and then blended in, under artificial indoor light.

CP Blurred Lines ind light

CP Blurred Lines blended ind light

Can you tell a difference?  It’s subtle.  After all, this is not a full-coverage foundation.

After using it, I’d call it “Blurred Pores.”  Seriously, after using this and then my current favorite finishing powder, Mineral Veil from Bare Minerals, the appearance of my facial pores was really reduced.

Blurred Lines CC Creme, like other Colour Prevails products, is a Walgreens exclusive and comes shrink-wrapped for safety.  It dispenses via a pump top, another feature that keeps the product clean.  It’s $16.00 US for 1 oz/30 mL and only you know if the price is right for you.  Honestly?  If I didn’t know anything about this I probably wouldn’t have bought it, but if I’d been given a tiny sample I would buy it after wearing it just once.

For comparison, here are some random CC cremes and their prices today on Walgreens.com; all are 1 ounce:  L’Oreal $12.99, Revlon $14.49, Almay $10.49.  At Ulta.com here are some prestige brand CC cremes, again 1 ounce:  It Cosmetics (1.08 oz.) $38.00, Smashbox $42.00, Pur Minerals $38.00.

Blurred Lines presently only comes in three colors:  Light, Medium, and Medium-Dark.  Fortunately I was sent Light, which I’d actually call more of a light-medium.  There’s no very fair/porcelain shade nor one that is very dark.  But perhaps in the future, if the company is successful, there will be more colors.  One caveat — the only place on my tube that listed the color as Light was on the shrink-wrapping, so when I tossed that I lost the label.  Not a problem if you only have one around anyway, but just letting you know.

Stay cool out there!

Disclosure:  This product was supplied by Nonie Creme Colour Prevails for review.

3 responses »

  1. It lookes nice, you could use it as a base makeup, if you want more coverage.. but in summer to much layers can be too much. Good review! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A lipstick/lip gloss combo from Colour Prevails | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

