Multitask with a lip color & lip liner duo from Colour Prevails

Posted on

Disclosure:  These products were supplied by Nonie Creme Colour Prevails for review.

Ooh, I haven’t reviewed a lip product in a while since nothing new has grabbed me in months.  But thanks to Nonie Creme Colour Prevails (CP), a new Walgreens-exclusive brand, I’ve got a cool 2-in-1 product to test.

It’s the Lip Design Sheer Colour/Liner Duo, and it comes in twelve shades:

  • Nude Beige
  • Antique Pink
  • Fig
  • Cherry
  • Dusky Pink
  • Coral
  • Grape
  • Wine
  • Red Apple
  • Rosewood
  • Watermelon
  • Burnt Pink

CP lip color liner duos

These colors are, top to bottom, Dusky Pink, Red Apple, Coral, and Antique Pink.  (Guest appearance by Anthocharis damone out of my craft supply stash.)  As always, click on any of my photos for a larger view.

Why a lip color/liner duo?  Why lip liner at all?  I don’t think we see or hear as much about lip liner as we used to years ago, perhaps because liners have become less obvious.  Remember the horrible trend of lining one’s lips in a much darker color than one’s lipstick?  And overlining, a horrible attempt to make one’s lips look fuller than they are??  Shudder.

To show you what I mean and without offending anyone, take a look at this post from blogger Vampy Varnish who showed us what NOT to do.  Thanks, VV!

Lip liners still have their place, especially as we get older.  With age we tend to get tiny lines and wrinkles on and around our lips.  These can act as tiny channels for lipstick to migrate outwards, leading to a look that is described as “feathering.”  A liner creates a barrier to keep the lipstick in place.

But what color to use?  You can try to find a liner that matches your lipstick, use a clear one for everything, or…. wait for it…. have a company match a lip color and liner for you.  Voilà!

This duo from Colour Prevails has a sheer lip color on one end that’s a smaller diameter than a standard lipstick, and an even smaller lip liner at the other end, both with clear caps.  Both twist up and do not require sharpening.  The SRP is $12.00 US and for a quality dual product I think that’s quite reasonable.

Here are both ends of Antique Pink up close:

CP lip Antique Pink

CP lip Antique Pink liner

I debated the best way to swatch these for you.  Draw a little lip shape on my arm with the liner and fill it in with the lipstick?  I decided to draw simple lines with each product so you can clearly see the colors.

Antique Pink is a cool-toned medium pink.  Coral is, no surprise, an orange-toned coral.  Under indirect outdoor light and then under artificial indoor light:

CP lip swatches 1 outd

CP lip swatches 1 ind

Red Apple is not nearly as dark as it appears in the tube and is a nice light red.  Dusky Pink is the darkest of the four colors I have and is a dark rose.  All four shades have a subtle amount of shimmer, but are not glittery.  Also under indirect outdoor light and then artificial indoor light:

CP lip swatches 2 outd

CP lip swatches 2 ind

As you can see, the liner is actually a tad darker than the corresponding lip color so I would recommend using a very light hand with the liner.  Actually you need to use a light hand with the liner anyway because it’s a thin, soft pencil, not a hard one, and you don’t want to break it.  And remember, you don’t want your lips looking outlined.  I think there’s a tad too much difference between the liner color and the lip color of Coral but think the other three are closely matched.

The lip color is sheer but buildable, a formula that I love since I hate heavy opaque lipsticks.  On my lips it felt light and wasn’t drying.  The finish was my favorite, a slightly glossy satin, neither matte nor glassy/wet-looking, and it stayed that way with no additional lip gloss or other product.  Wear was good and I saw no feathering but I can’t put a certain number of hours to it as I tried the different colors throughout the day.

I like that all four colors I received were mid-tone ones since I don’t wear super dark lip colors, bright purple, etc.  However, if you have been wanting to try a purple-toned lipstick without going bizarre, the shade Grape might be a way to experiment, since these lip colors are sheer.  On me (light to medium Caucasian cool-toned skin, brown eyes, dark brown & white hair) my favorite color was Red Apple, which surprised me as I don’t think I would have chosen it in the store, thinking it was too dark.  It’s a great light red, not too intense at all.  Coral was too orange for me but warmer skin tones could rock it.

Colour Prevails has several other new lip products.  There’s a combo lipstick and lip gloss…

CP Vintage Rose lipstick and gloss(Vintage Rose)

a lip balm…

CP Berry Wash lip balm(Berry Wash)

and even a matte lip product with a clear top coat as an option.

CP Tangerine matte lip color and topcoat(Tangerine)

I don’t wear matte lip products but I plan to get my mitts on that lipstick/matching lip gloss.

Disclosure:  These products were supplied by Nonie Creme Colour Prevails for review.

7 responses »

  1. I swatched some of these and they seemed nice.

    Reply
  2. I think Vampy Varnish actually went very easy on the dark lip liner/light lipstick trend of several years ago. Living in SoCal, I can attest to having seen much, much worse! lol Anyhoo, the CP lippie/liner combos look right up my alley — I like when some thought has gone into a product with dual use and it’s a space-saver in the purse which I appreciate! Also, as I said before about Nonie’s line, I like the butterfly-inspired packaging. When I drove past Walgreens today, I admit to having visions of CP products dancing in my head. Luckily I was headed to a doctor’s appt and couldn’t stop and indulge. But maybe this weekend? 😀

    Reply
    • Yes, VV was restrained in her “don’t do this!” looks but it’s still an excellent post. Ooh, hope you get to try some CP products this weekend. After our next payday I’m definitely picking up a few more things…. if they’re still there! The last time I was in our Walgreens, the new Colour Prevails foundation was almost completely sold out.

      Reply
  3. I stopped in at Walgreens today. Didn’t buy anything, but they had a lovely display of Colour Prevail products. Was especially checking out the lipsticks, and love your comparisons. The lady at the make up counter, even pointed out these lipsticks with liners, and said they were a popular item. I might just have to pick up one of these. Suzy

    Reply
  4. The packaging… it’s really kind of swell! I’m not much for lippies but these I think I’d try. And a matte lippie? Yes, please!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: What’s this? A sale on Nonie Creme Colour Prevails? | The Silver Nail

  6. Pingback: A lipstick/lip gloss combo from Colour Prevails | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

