Oil Slick — new collection from Color Club

Posted on

There’s a new collection from Color Club.  It’s called Oil Slick and the company calls it “tri-chrome,” it looks duochrome, and it could be multichrome.

Color Club Oil Slick banner

Color Club Oil Slick bottles

At the company’s web site, these polishes are $10.00 each and I haven’t seen any reviews yet to know if they’re all they claim to be.  ‘Scuse me for sounding skeptical but I’ve been burned on these type of chromes before.   Years ago another company came out with some widely hyped duochromes and I was disappointed with the actual products.  Very streaky and showed a ton of brushstrokes.  Of course that was then and this is now.

I do like a couple of the looks and names.  Who remembers the 1983 song from The Weather Girls called “It’s Raining Men”?

Color Club Oil Slick IRM

It became a real cult hit.

So ’80s!  Bright neon colors, bad lip synching (but awesome voices), and terrible green screen usage.  But fun.

And hey, I’m sure we’ve all heard the Lorde song “Royals,” but for a different cover of it, sung by a sad clown along with the group Postmodern Jukebox, no less:

Different, huh?  These polishes could be something different too and I look forward to others’ reviews.

EDIT 6/23/15:  Here are actual swatches:  http://instagram.com/p/4IFaxcuYrq/  While pretty, they look duochrome to me and not like any color combinations we haven’t seen before.  I dunno, I expected something…. more.

7 responses »

  1. There are a couple of color combos here I haven’t seen before in duochromes. I’ll be interested to see if they are good or just a frosty mess.

    Reply
  2. This post is awesome in so many ways…. 😀

    Reply
  3. I’m a sucker for a good duochrome! I can’t hardly wait for these to cross the border into Canada! Squeeee!!

    ps. is it the Revlon ChromaChameleons that disappointed you? Tell!

    Reply
  4. I got nothing about the polishes (I’m firmly on the indie train for 99% of my polish purchasing)…but I know that clown !!! His name is Mike, lol.
    I didn’t hate the China Glaze Boho collection, but they weren’t nearly as shifty as I had hoped.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Color Club Oil Slick | FashionJitsu

Leave a Reply

