A neutral I actually love? Alert the media!

Posted on

Wait a minute; I am the media.  So I’m alerting myself to alert you:  I found a neutral from Zoya I love.

I certainly can’t say it’s a new polish.  It’s quite old, judging from its item number at Zoya’s web site, ZP139.  For reference, the newest polishes have numbers around 800.

It’s Flowie, part of the Classic line, and it’s a warm light brown with a peach tone.  It reminds me a bit of very light milk chocolate, and is one I picked up on a whim in Zoya’s recent Earth Day promotion.

It’s not super-opaque, and I needed three coats.  I do think Zoya’s more recent releases have a better formula than their older ones, but Flowie’s not bad, just needs a little more attention.  With no top coat, under indirect bright outdoor light and then with the flash:

Flowie

Flowie flash

While I think it would be prettier on warm-toned skin as opposed to my AWG (average white girl) cool-toned skin, I still love it and don’t think it gives me Band-Aid hands.  No yellow tones, not blah.  This would be a beautiful subdued office-safe color, and while I no longer work in an office, I’ll be happy I have this when fall rolls around.

I don’t really have another Zoya color like it.  Here it is in between Flynn and Chanelle.

Flowie comp

You can see that it’s much peachier than either one, and is lighter than Chanelle.

5 responses »

  1. Wow, I am so drawn to these colors. They remind me of the 1980s, what an adult woman would wear to the office.

    Also, I received PSGM this week, and thank you very much. I will enjoy it.

    Reply
    • You’re right, it does have an ’80s feel. Thanks for letting me know you got PSGM. The next time I watch it I’m going to pay more attention to the meaning of colors in it. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Mieko | The Silver Nail

  3. greyeyedgrrl

    How the heck did I miss this post when you first did it? My executive assistant needs better quality control. My EA of course is my cat, Walter. (Hmm… he’s reminding me to tell you his full name is Sir Walter Scott.)

    I picked up Flowie on my very first Zoya’s New Year’s event. I remember the 3 polishes that introduced me to Zoya — Flowie, Suvi & Tao. And when I think of Zoya, I naturally think of you. You have promoted Zoya probably more than any blog I read, but not in a bad way. When you like something, you say it. When you dislike something, you say it. I look forward to trying Noni Creme’s line in Walgreens because of your reviews.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

