Paradise Sun Collection from Zoya — full review!

Posted on

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

Continuing with my reviews of the new Island Fun and Paradise Sun summer collections , today we see the shimmers, Paradise Sun.  Hope you enjoyed my review yesterday of the cremes of Island Fun.

Here are the Paradise Sun polishes:

ParSun bottles

Left to right:

  • Aphrodite
  • Mae
  • Isa
  • Oceane
  • Selene
  • Genesis

The two sets compared:

ParSun and IslFun

As you can see, five of the colors in each set generally correspond, but Island Fun has a tropical green and Paradise Sun has a white.

The formula of the Paradise Sun polishes is interesting — they are not all straight shimmers; Aphrodite, Mae, and Isa have a definite glass fleck look.  I used two coats unless otherwise stated but think Aphrodite and Mae could’ve benefited from a third coat.  Photographed without a top coat under indirect sunny outdoor light.

Aphrodite is a shimmery tomato or poppy red.  Very bright.  This one is the most jelly-like of the set.

ParSun Aphrodite

Yep, definitely could’ve used a third coat.

Mae is a bright magenta pink.  It’s as loud and as brash as Mae West, don’t know if it was named for her or not.  Zoya calls it warm-toned but I’d call it cool or neutral.  Not a “girly pink,” more of a “big girl pink.”

ParSun Mae

Isa is a blue-purple that I think is stunning.  But like yesterday’s blue-purple Serenity, it photographs much more blue than it appears to be in person.  It’s purple, I tell ya, it’s PURPLE!!

ParSun Isa outd

I tried other lighting.  Here it is with the flash.

ParSun Isa flash

Still looks almost completely blue.  Here’s a shot under artificial indoor light, and while it obviously makes my skin look darker and more yellow, I think this the most accurate representation of Isa I could get.

ParSun Isa ind artif

I highly recommend your seeking out other bloggers’ photos too because they have different cameras and different lighting conditions.  I feel I’m not showing Isa at its best, and believe me, I’m loving this color.

Oceane is a turquoise or ocean blue that’s one of the more opaque shades in the set.

ParSun Oceane

Selene is a teal green, extremely shimmery and also more opaque.  Again, Zoya calls it warm but I would say it’s neutral and would flatter many skin tones.

ParSun Selene

Genesis is a crystalline white, too opaque to be used as a sheer top coat.  I used three coats and wonder if four would  have been better, or perhaps two coats over a very opaque white creme.  Funny, I didn’t think I’d like Genesis since I rarely wear white polish, but it makes my hands look tan without the sun or UV exposure of actually getting tan.   And would be a knockout on very dark skin.  The shimmer keeps it from looking like White-Out®.

ParSun Genesis

My impressions:  I love shimmers and love the saturated colors of Paradise Sun.  While they indeed look summery, most of them would be right at home the rest of the year too.  The white of Genesis and the blue-purple of Isa for winter?  Yes, please.  Teal in the fall?  Yoobetcha, especially since the color looks good with browns and warm reds.  My favorites in this set are…. all of them.  But OK, if I could only pick a few I’d grab Isa and Aphrodite — the former because I love purple and the latter because I rarely find an orange-red I love.  Aphrodite’s jelly-like formula is fun, too.

ParSun all six

Lots of comparisons coming later this week!

Zoya polishes are 5-Free — free of toluene, camphor, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, and dibutyl phthalate (DBP).  Paradise Sun polishes are $9 each at Zoya.com .

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Blogger Swatches and Reviews of Zoya Island Fun & Paradise Sun - Zoya Blog

  2. Thank you for posting these swatches, I think most colors are beautiful!! I’m a purple lover and looking at Isa is love at first sight!! I try to not buy many dupes of colors and I think I can safely say that I haven’t seen a color like this, I have to have it!! Actually, if I were to be honest with myself and if, a big IF, I had more money than sense, I’d probably buy the whole collection, both shimmers and cremes, lol. I guess for now, I’ll put Isa on my Zoya wishlist and wait for another sale to add it to my cart.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

