Another desert-named collection for summer

Posted on

The desert must be “in” this year.  A few weeks ago I posted about China Glaze’s upcoming Desert Escape Collection and now Color Club has announced its Desert Valley set.

Color Club Desert Valley banner

With the tag line, “Head west!  A new collection inspired by Route 66,” I think a much better name for the set would have been “Route 66,” but it’s not my company.  Considering half of the famous and historic Route 66 is not in the desert, why not?

Anyway, there are seven shades.  Actually, now that I read the names, the set also reminds me of China Glaze’s spring collection, Road Trip.  (Click on the following picture for a larger view.)

Color Club Desert Valley bottles

I dunno, kind of a hodgepodge to me.  For a desert theme, where’s the gold, the tan, the rust, the shimmer?

Polishes are $8.50 each at Color Club’s web site but a much more reasonable $3.50 each at Head2ToeBeauty.  Also worth noting is that at H2TB, the colors seem much less vibrant, which is not a bad thing.  For example, Grand Canyon looks less tangerine and I like it better.

Color Club Grand Canyon at H2TB

Overall I’m much more excited about China Glaze’s summer “desert” set and still hope to find the mini-set of six polishes.

2 responses »

  1. These look rather boring and like something I already have. Think I’ll pass. I do love the China Glaze collection too though. I had quite forgotten about it and now looking back, I need those. As soon as I can find them…

    Reply
  2. Aww, these really do remind me of the last road trip I was on, which involved the Rockies and canyonland.

    These seem more classic Americana than China Glaze’s Coachella-esque. Deborah Lippmann’s desert collection, on the other hand, feels more Georgia O’Keefe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

