Diamonds and Rust

Posted on

Guess what, I was wrong.  Wasn’t the first time and it certainly won’t be the last!

A couple of months ago when Pantone announced the color of the year for 2015, Marsala, I was quite bitchy about it and said how much I disliked it.  I think what I hated the most was that picture which showed the color in a very dull fabric swatch.  It did, as one person commented, look rather like dried blood.

But since then I’ve been schooled a bit and have looked at a lot of Marsala shades and products and finishes, and it’s grown on me.  Now with my cool-toned complexion and salt ‘n’ pepper hair, I know it’ll never look as good on me as it does on, say, a warm-complected person with black or blonde or red hair, but I can try it sparingly.

As you might imagine, some companies were afflicted with severe bandwagonitis and rushed to promote old or new products of theirs as being all Marsala, all the time.  One product that appeared and quickly sold out was an eyeshadow palette from Sephora called the “Sephora + Pantone Universe Facets of Marsala Eye Palette.”  It’s no longer on Sephora’s site but you can read a review of it and see a ton of photos and swatches at Temptalia.

It was a bit pricey but I think I might have bought it had I known about it in time.  As it is, I’m attempting to more or less recreate it with an empty palette and single eye shadow pots from Coastal Scents along with some singles I already own.  It won’t be an exact dupe but I’m having fun with the challenge.

One company that has not been pushing Marsala — but has it anyway — is Nyx Cosmetics.  I picked up one of their Jumbo Eye Pencils in the color Rust, which is a rusty red, kind of maroon.

Rust closed

Rust open

I’ve tried these Jumbo Eye Pencils before and really like how creamy and blendable they are.  SRP is a reasonable $4.50 and they’re often on sale at Ulta.  Target carries Nyx, too.

It swatches out to a pretty shimmer.  Under indirect dull outdoor light and with a flash:

Rust swatch Rust swatch flash

I wouldn’t wear a reddish eye shadow heavily or too close to the white of my eye, for fear of looking tired or as if I had pinkeye.  But it can be a transition shade with more neutral browns for a pop of color.  If you want to dip a toe into Marsala Lake, this eye pencil might be an easy way to try it.

The name of my post refers to the title song from a 1975 album by Joan Baez.  Diamonds and Rust was well-received and included Baez compositions along with great songs such as Stevie Wonder’s I Never Dreamed You’d Leave in Summer and Jackson Browne’s Fountain of Sorrow.  I think I played this album so much in high school I practically wore it out.  Still have it, too.

Diamonds and Rust is about Baez’s relationship with Bob Dylan and I always took the meaning of the title to be that time does odd things.  It can create something wonderful and valuable (diamonds) or it can tear down and ruin (rust).  Memories — old loves, past homes, departed friends — can be diamonds or rust.

You can easily listen to the song online.  And, yeah, I’d go with the original Baez version, not the Judas Priest cover.

8 responses »

  1. I use Marsala as a crease shade and it looks fantastic on me. I love NYX cosmetics. I am going to keep an eye out for that color. I originally didn’t like Marsala either, but I think it is starting to grow on me with increased exposure. I still think “Grandma” every time I see it, but it is a pretty rose shade after all, and I am a grandma. Ha ha ha I am a real grandma and even I think “old lady” grandma when I see it. Not young grandma like me.

    Reply
  2. I have that NYX pencil and love it. I use it by itself or even as a base.

    Reply
  3. This is such a beautiful colour thanks for sharing

    Reply
  4. Hey, have a question. Which I’m sorry has nothing to do with eye shadow. Have you heard anything about a Valentine promo or anything coming up in Feb? Thanks. Suzy

    Reply
    • Now that you mention it, no, I haven’t heard anything about a Valentine’s promo from Zoya or any other nail polish company. 😦

      Reply
      • Just curious. Thought I saw a comment from Zoya awhile back, something in Feb or March. Maybe not. I still have my 1/2 off order code which exp March 1, and plan on using that for more of the Anchor base coat, and a few polishes. I’m just waiting a bit in case some new polishes show up at the end of Feb. You never know.

        Reply
  5. Pingback: Who needs a white knight when you can have a green one? | The Silver Nail

  6. Pingback: More Jumbo Eye Pencils from Nyx | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

