The 1900s — January SquareHue box

Posted on

For 2015, nail polish subscription company SquareHue is going with a new theme, Decades.  January is the 1900s, February will be the 1910s, and so on through December which will be the 2010s.  Doesn’t that sound like fun?  I bet the 1920s will be jazzy and the 1960s will be groovy.

I really had no idea what to expect from this month’s box, and to be honest, I had my subscription suspended (you can do that at any time and with no penalty, something I love about SquareHue) and didn’t get the box as part of my regular sub.  But when I saw the colors that others posted, I went e-groveling to SquareHue and begged them to please let me buy the box.  They were very gracious and did.

At first I didn’t know how they were going to do this whole “decades” thing.  Would it be polishes that were popular in that decade?  Nah, that couldn’t be it because then we’d get nothing but pinks and reds for ages.  Turns out it’s a bit of a history lesson.  Meet the 1900s box:

SqH Jan15 box

SqH Jan15 bottles

SqH Jan15 labels

Something else new they’re doing this year is that on the info card there’s a little spot to actually swatch the polishes.  I like that!

SqH Jan15 card a

On the back of the card is a fictional account from someone named “Siren” that I presume will be a running part of the year’s boxes.  Here she is writing from Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, in 1903.

SqH Jan15 card b

The polishes are:

A very minor quibble is that all three polishes are listed on the card as cremes, but only Gibson Girl is.  Also, the nitpicker in me knows that the literal end of the Victorian era came in 1901 with the death of Queen Victoria, which then ushered in the Edwardian era (King Edward VII reigned from 1901-1910).  But perhaps the company means something else, and isn’t as maddeningly literal as I am.

All three polishes had a good formula.  Gibson Girl and Victorian End needed two coats each, but First Flight was a little thinner and required three.  I also had a very slight problem with brushstrokes with First Flight, but nothing terrible.  Under indirect outdoor light:

SqH Jan15 Gibson Girl

SqH Jan15 First Flight

SqH Jan15 Victorian End
Here’s an extra shot of Victorian End with the flash to show the depth of the sparkle.

SqH Jan15 Victorian End flash
I love all three colors and think this 1900s box is one of my favorites ever from SquareHue.  It’ll be interesting to see what February/the 1910s brings.  I think we have a hint in “Siren’s” letter — she says “Laura” was talking about women getting the right to vote, so I think one of the colors will be named for and have something to do with women’s suffrage.  We’ll see!

2 responses »

  1. You are not alone in your distinctions about the Victorian Era, I too wondered what they were referencing in 1909? I also felt that the purple color was, ironically, more reflective of the Edwardian than Victorian period.

    I believe Siren and friends will be in stories every month to illuminate the period. Not sure if they will remain young women in each decade, showing one perspective on the new developments, or if they will actually age thru the years.

    Also wondering about WWI, that cannot be ignored, and yet is not the most pleasant subject to deal with. Maybe they will select one aspect of it, field nurses for example, or focus on Armistice day? For the 60’s and 70’s, might suspend, ha, don’t want to relive those!

    This decades collection is brilliant. And the Square Hue colors are the best, they are always just right, on par with “Strange Beautiful” and “J” looks cheap by comparison. They are also continuing with the donations to A12, I like this consistency rather than the vague “support charities” many companies (again J) boast about but you don’t know what charities.

    Reply
  2. Love this! Did you see the February colors yet? Someone had posted them on Instagram already…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

