How about a nice, flaming rum punch?

Posted on

Disclosure:  This product was supplied by Sleek Nail for review.

It was fun the other day to swatch a beautiful OPI polish that was sent to me by Sleek Nail.   I mentioned, too, that they carry Nyx Cosmetics now, and Nyx is becoming my new drugstore BFF.

I’ve bought several Nyx lip products before but had not tried one of the company’s chubby lip crayons in their Chunky Dunk Hydrating Lippie line.  Since I’ve loved Nyx’s lip glosses and also lip crayons from Revlon and e.l.f., I was excited to try a Nyx crayon.

There are twelve shades and the SRP is $6.00.  They are $4.80 at Sleek Nail which is currently having a 20% off Nyx sale, and I received Rum Punch, a light red-plum.  I’ve seen tempting swatches of the other colors, such as the purplish Berry Mojito and Pomegranate Margarita.

It looks brownish-red in the crayon but does swatch out to a plummy red, a little darker than most of the pink lippies I wear.  Both photos are under indirect outdoor light:

Rum Punch

The product came safety-sealed/shrink-wrapped and the slight nick in the tip is of my own clumsy doing.  A big plus is that the crayon twists up, no sharpening required.  I hate sharpening makeup crayons/soft pencils!  There was no noticeable scent or flavor.

Rum Punch swatch

Rum Punch is sheer but buildable and feels very light and moisturizing on my lips, not heavy or dry at all.  Very good pigmentation for a sheer product.  I haven’t worn it for any length of time yet but when I removed it I found it did have a faint stain.

Uh oh, I see a new addiction developing!!

As previously posted, Sleek Nail has a deal especially for readers of The Silver Nail.  Use code SILVERNAIL10 to get 10% off your first order when you create an account.

P.S.  You get a gold star in my book if you recognized the title of my post as being a line from the classic “It’s a Wonderful Life”!

Disclosure:  This polish was supplied by Sleek Nail for review.

5 responses »

  1. Oooh I love NYX cosmetics! I haven’t tried the chunky lips pencils yet, but I am in love with the butter glosses and the matte lipsticks.
    I didn’t get any bonus points. I actually have only seen the movie once and I think it was a few decades ago. I thought it was sad.

    Reply
  2. I tried to use SILVERNAIL10 at Sleek Nail and it didn’t work.😢 ver good prices on China Glaze, but another 10% off would be very cool!

    Reply
  3. Update 1/19/15 — I emailed Sleek Nail about the code, SILVERNAIL10. They said it was temporarily and mistakenly disabled but should be working now!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Let’s Chunky Dunk some more | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

