Big news from Zoya — Naturel SATINS

Posted on

I was wondering if Zoya would do a new Naturel Collection this year, a neutral set to carry us gently from winter to spring.  If so, how could they make it interesting?

Wait no more.   Naturel Satins!  Official press release:

Naturel Satins preview

ZOYA NATUREL SATINS
The next generation of Zoya Naturel is almost here!  Introducing, Zoya Naturel Satins, a collection of six new, neutral nail polish colors in an ultra-wearable, low-sheen, chic satin finish.

A hybrid between matte and glossy polishes, the new Zoya Satin* formula provides opaque coverage and is longer lasting than traditional matte shades. The flawlessly smooth finish hides imperfections and creates a luxurious, satin finish nail look.

  • Leah: Lavender tinged taupe
  • Rowan: Creamy suede taupe
  • Sage: Mossy sage green
  • Tove: Misty slate grey
  • Brittany: Rose mauve cream
  • Ana: Light toasted almond

*Zoya Satin is not intended to be worn with a top coat. For best results: Prep nail with Zoya Remove Plus Nail Polish Remover, apply base coat and finish with 2 thin coats of any Zoya Satin Nail Polish.

AVAILABLE 01/15/15!

Naturel Satins sampler

 

Naturel Satins spill

Naturel Satins display

Naturel Satins plate

 

Naturel Satins Tove

WANT MORE?  COMING SOON –  Zoya Satin Seal Topcoat!
Turn any color into an elegant Satin finish beauty with just one coat!

**********************************************
ZOYA IS THE HEALTHY COLOR OF FASHION!
$9 (US), Available in top salons, spas, and on zoya.com

**BIG5FREE: Formula contains no formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, dibutyl phthalate, toluene, or camphor.

9 responses »

  1. Very nice! Different, soft, elegant.

    Silver Nail, oh font of manicure wisdom, let me ask your opinion. On ads and blogs, almost all nails are shown in the length here, extending a bit past the finger tip. Also, a moderate squared oval shape, not corners, but not a pure oval.

    This is different than when we were young and longer tapered nails were considered more feminine. Also they were easier to break and maybe today’s working girl or busy mom finds a shorter length more practical. Both are attractive, as long as we don’t get into the “fang” category.

    Is the shorter length considered the fashion, and longer is passe? Or do we now think not in terms of fashion so much as individual style, need and taste? Your insights into this I expect will be good.

    Reply
    • LOL at “font of manicure wisdom,” thank you so much! I would agree that the squared oval aka “squoval” is what’s in fashion now, and I’ve noticed in the past year or so that nails in ads seem to be slightly shorter than previously. As you pointed out, just past the end of the finger seems to be prevalent, not like a few decades ago when longer tapered and/or very rounded ones were in style.

      I wonder if part of the reason for shorter nails being “in” is all the use of smart phones, tablets, etc. Kind of hard to do much texting on tiny keys with long nails.

      I hate to call something passé, but would say that the following do look dated: very long nails, pointy nails, and extreme French manicures (very large squared ends painted chalky white). But I always say wear what you like, keeping in mind that if what others think is important to you, realize how you look to them. Maybe one wore very long, pointy, dark red nails when one was 20, but at 50 people might laugh at you. If you don’t care, fine, but if you do care, then switch things up.

      I freely admit to having the mindset of “longer nails are better” until I saw a certain killer photo that I talked about here: https://thesilvernail.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/yes-we-can/

      Hope that helps!

      Reply
      • That is an excellent point about technological devices leading to the necessity of shorter, squarish nails. I never thought of that, but it’s probably the main reason for the shift in popularity, whether universally acknowledged or not. I know whenever my nails get a little too long, I have trouble typing, texting, etc.

        As for the Zoya satins, they look very nice. Hmmmm, methinks I’ll be adding to my growing Zoya collection very soon. They are reminiscent of the Essie cashmere collection out now, very soft and pretty winter-to-spring transition colors. m

        Reply
  2. Wow! These satins are right up my alley and I will probably get ’em all when they are released. I’ve always had long nails, and went to the “squoval” shape about 4 years ago when a nail-tech friend advised me that I would have less breakage on my almond tips if I did that. Seems my nails were trying to tell me something, because as soon as I filed those tips square, the tip breakage came to a stop! I personally think that we gals should wear what we like, when we like. I just put on Zoya Blu and topped it with KB Shimmer Snow Much Fun. It’s like a winter wonderland on my nails. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Oh Zoya, just take my money!

    Reply
    • I know, right? I think that nail polish companies have signaled that heavy textures are OUT for 2015 and satins are IN. Not that I particularly care what’s out or in, but one can only buy what’s available. I think these new Satins are going to be flattering to a whole lot of people! 🙂

      Reply
  4. I’m really interested in these satins. They look so pretty. I have so few neutrals, but love them. Wondering how easy they will be to apply. They seem to be a different finish than the other Zoya neutrals, I think. So, we’ll see. Jan 15th is the date for me to watch for.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Taffeta | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

