The Devil, you say

Posted on

I’m getting to like makeup crayons more and more — lip, eye.  I still love creams, powders, and palettes, but crayons are so handy.

Last spring I posted about two dark brown eye shadow crayons, one from e.l.f. and one from Nyx.  The e.l.f. one, while a pretty color and inexpensive, had horrible wear and wasn’t worth keeping.  The Nyx one had/has excellent staying power.  Too good, in fact.  Once that baby sets, it’s not moving.  Even before it sets or dries completely, it’s not blendable, something I’d prefer in an eye shadow.  So I was using it as an eyeliner but it’s still the devil to remove at night, no matter what eye makeup remover I use.

(By the way, never rub your eyes to remove your makeup.  If you’re like me as you age, eyelashes are becoming more precious than gold!  Put some makeup remover on a cotton pad and then hold that gently against your closed eye for 10-15 seconds before you start wiping carefully.  That helps loosen it and makes it easier to remove.)

So I found myself in the FoR mode with this Nyx crayon — Fear of Removal, kind of like with glitter nail polish, which was keeping me from using the crayon at all, so what’s the point of having it?  Yet I liked the color.

Fortunately I found what I think will be a good substitute, the Ulta Eye Crayon in Devil’s Food.  Usual SRP is $8.00 but it’s currently on sale for $5.00.  Devil’s Food is a dark matte brown with slight silver shimmer but no heavy glitter.  The sealed crayon comes with a smudge tip on the opposite end from the pigment.

Devil's Food

Here are swatches on it on my inner arm under indirect outdoor light.  The Nyx Chocolate is on top and the Ulta Devil’s Food is on the bottom.   Before and after a quick, hard finger smudge:

Chocolate and Devil's Food

Chocolate and Devil's Food smudge

Wear is good and I like that it’s both blendable and easily removed.

Now my “has nothing to do with makeup or nail polish” segue.  Do you like horror movies that aren’t too scary, ones where you don’t have to worry, “Gee, that could happen to me”?  If so, I recommend a little sleeper from 2010 called, simply, “Devil.”  It’s on Netflix Instant Watch, and the plot summary is as brief as its title:  “Detective Bowden must save five people trapped in an elevator and he has to do it fast, because one of them is the devil.

Yep, the devil.  THE Devil.  Satan.  Ol’ Scratch.  Nick.  Beelzebub.  Lucifer.  The screenplay comes from a story by M. Night Shyamalan, so expect a twist.  Or two.

2 responses »

  1. I like that it has the smudge end…if I ever get to Ulta again will have to grab some of these.

    Devil is a pretty good movie, and I don’t like horror movies..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

