Wishes from Zoya — complete review plus comparisons

Posted on

Disclosure:  The Wishes Collection was supplied by Zoya for review.  Some of the comparison polishes were previously supplied by Zoya for review.

Sparkly, dreamy jewels — that’s Zoya’s new Winter/Holiday Collection called Wishes.

Zoya Wishes banner

Announced a little over a week ago and available for preorder now, Wishes is a set of six polishes:  one creme, two metallics, and three Magical (i.e., contain holographic glitter) PixieDusts.

Zoya Wishes sampler

What, no reds in a holiday set?  That’s OK, Zoya recently released a small 3-polish set of Ultra PixieDusts that were all red or red-toned, and I think it’s refreshing to go with bright blues and purples plus black.

Unless otherwise stated, all swatches are done with two coats.  All the Wishes polishes had good formulas and coverage.

Prim is a cool-toned periwinkle blue with a very strong silver metallic shimmer.

Wishes Prim outd

Haven is a violet-purple shimmer.  Shown under indirect outdoor light and then with the flash.

Wishes Haven outd

Wishes Haven flash

Willa is an opaque onyx black creme, no shimmer at all, unlike Zoya’s own Raven.  Willa is a renamed re-release of the limited edition color called Black Swan, which was part of a Zang Toi trio in September of 2013.  Solid black polishes like this make good “undies” for various top coats although of course can be worn solo.

Wishes Willa

On to the new PixieDusts.  I show each color with one coat on my pinkie fingernail on the right and two coats on my ring finger, so you can judge the opacity in case you’d want to use one coat as a top coat over something else.

Nori is a sapphire blue matte textured polish with heavy glitter and sparkle, both holographic and non-holo.

Wishes Nori

Thea is an amethyst purple.  I needed three coats of this one for good opacity.

Wishes Thea

Imogen is black with a lot of glitter and sparkle.  The holo glitter really makes it colorful.

Wishes Imogen

So how could you combine these?  Your imagination is the only limit, but here are two looks I tried that I love, one coat of Thea over Willa on my ring finger (left) and one coat of Nori over Willa on the right.  Without and then with a flash.

Wishes Thea and Nori over Willa

Wishes Thea and Nori over Willa flash

Complex and mysterious, just like me.  (OK, OK, I kid.)

I thought of some quick comparisons.  One of my favorite Zoya polishes for years has been Jo.  Prim is similar to Jo, but Prim has slightly more of a dusty purple tone and shows brushstrokes more.  Jo is more blue plus has blue shimmer in addition to silver.

Wishes Prim and Jo bottles

Wishes Prim and Jo flash

Nori reminded me of Muse from this summer’s Bubbly Collection.  Muse is more of a blue-green and the two have slightly different sizes of glitter.  Nori dries matte textured, but not completely matte.

Wishes Nori and Muse bottles

Wishes Nori and Muse

On the nail, Nori and Muse look very close.

Hope is an older polish that’s very similar to Haven.

Wishes Haven and Hope bottles

Wishes Haven and Hope outd

Haven is more plum; Hope is more violet.  While the colors are close, the formulas aren’t — my bottle of Hope is very thin and the polish needed at least three coats for good coverage.  Haven covered very well with two.

Wishes is such a beautiful collection, so much more than just a Christmas set.  You could wear these colors all winter; heck, you could wear them all year.

My favorites are Prim, Haven, and Thea, while my favorite combo look is either Nori or Thea over Willa.  Imogen would be fun to try over various cremes — dark green, red, gray.

Some caveats:  If you have the Zoya limited edition called Black Swan, be aware that Willa is exactly the same and only the name is new.  Willa is beautiful for a solid black creme and I think every polishaholic needs one in her stash, but if you already have a black creme I doubt I’d rush to buy this.  If you don’t have one though, the smooth formula and coverage make it a winner.

Prim and Jo are close but are not dupes.  Love both!  Haven and Hope are even closer.  If I already had Hope I probably wouldn’t get Haven, but if you don’t have Hope then I highly recommend Haven and its formula is much better than Hope’s.

As always, Zoya polishes are “Big 5 Free”: Formula contains no formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, dibutyl phthalate, toluene, or camphor.

Disclosure:  The Wishes Collection was supplied by Zoya for review.  Some of the comparison polishes were previously supplied by Zoya for review.

12 responses »

  1. Girl you’ve been ON IT with the blog! I’m loving it! I gotta say that Prim was a bit of a let down. Way too brushstroke-y for my taste. The color is so lovely, too! Too bad! I feel like Haven has been done before by Zoya. I did, however, jump on the three new Pixie Dusts. I can’t seem to stop collecting them whether I like the colors or not. It’s a PROBLEM!

    Thanks so much for sharing!

    XOXOXO

    J

    Reply
    • Thank you! It was a bit of a push to get all the swatches done today, since my camera was acting up. I think a top coat over Prim would cut down on the visible brushstrokes; I’d like to try Thea over it!

      Reply
  2. I absolutely love your blog!!!! I just got Prim the other day and I love it so much. I have been eyeing Imogen since the preorder showed up on the website, but I can’t figure out if I actually NEED it. I already have Dahlia and Storm, and Dahlia is a bit too charcoal-y and not true black, and Storm doesn’t come out quite as glittery as I thought it would. Is Imogen a truer black than Dahlia? Honestly it looks a bit brownish in the swatch.

    Thanks for having this blog!! The comparisons have already helped me out so much in deciding my next polishes…I’m absolutely addicted to Zoya so this blog is a godsend!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks! I’d say Dahlia, Storm, and Imogen are all very different. Dahlia has that original PixieDust matte texture with sparkle, looks like asphalt, which I mean in a good way. I don’t have Storm but it looks opaque and glossy with sparkle but not glitter. Imogen has a rather sheer black base with lots of glitter, so you could wear it as a top coat over other polishes or build up opacity with it on its own by using several coats.

      Reply
  3. Love the blog. of course. You don’t have Storm? I love Storm.

    Reply
  4. I love this collection there are some stunning colours, would you mind if I posted on this collection as well 🙂

    Reply
  5. Loving this collection! thanks for taking the time to review. You have beautiful nails!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

