Holiday 2014 Collection from Essie — or is it?

Posted on

I was disappointed with Essie’s Winter 2014 Collection called Jiggle Hi, Jiggle Low.  I don’t know what was worse — the stupid name(s) or the boring colors.

But now we can be excited over their Holiday 2014 Collection, right?  Well…. maybe.

At beauty e-tailer Head2ToeBeauty, the theme picture is miniscule but we can see the polishes.  All sparkly or metallic.  However, this is currently the only web site I see these as a set, so I’m not sure if it’s really a new collection per se or not.

H2TB essies

What also makes me question “new holiday set” is that four of these are old colors.

No Place Like Chrome, Good As Gold, and Penny Talk are from the company’s 2012 Mirror Metallics line.  I got No Place Like Chrome and Penny Talk and liked them (my reviews were positive) but wasn’t crazy about how obvious the brushstrokes were.  As I got more experienced with other brands I found chromes and foils I liked better.

Essie 3 metallics

The glitter Set in Stones is a previously released shade as well, from the Holiday Effects 2011 Collection.  Rock at the Top and Summit of Style are new this year and are part of Essie’s Luxeffects (glitter top coats) polishes.

If you’d like to see these latter two glitters in action, head over to ImABeautyGeek for swatches of them plus Essie’s new winter colors.

EDIT:  KFalcon (see comments) of ImABeautyGeek, confirms that this is NOT an official holiday collection from Essie!  Will be interesting to wait and see what Essie has in a few months for spring.

*******************************

Since I can’t say this post is real news for sure, how about a few laughs.  Some of you have chuckled at the law enforcement reports in our small town newspaper that I posted here and here.  New this week:

A concerned man phoned the Whitefish Police Department from Canada.  The man was a retired police officer and he had questions regarding the “conduct towards Canadians” when they are in town.  He had heard rumors of an officer making statements about Canadians from a co-worker of his and he had just aboot enough of it, eh.

A newspaper delivery person called in about a suspicious man who took off running when the driver came around the corner. He was hiding in bushes when the driver asked him what he was doing.  “Nothing,” came the reply from the bushes, not at all suspiciously.

Have a great weekend!

7 responses »

  1. I have those metallic chrome finish polishes and I use them for stamping. They work fabulous! I don’t use them for actual nail paint just stamping and nail art as an accent color.

    Reply
  2. Heheh love the reports 😀

    Reply
  3. Yikes! I agree…I think it’s a bit boring but if they come out with some mini cube collection, I’ll buy it just for kicks so I don’t have to commit to large bottle sizes. Jiggle hi or low? Strange names… in my opinion this describes what you see in strip clubs? LOL…Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  4. Essie hasn’t really impressed me this year. Last year was much better.

    Reply
  5. Catherine Neville

    I would be shocked if this was it from Essie, 2 new Luxe Effects and 4 re-releases on top of a very meh winter collection. I mean you’ve got to wonder whats going on at Essie, given the standard and frequency Zoya is putting out polishes (I’m finding it hard to keep up financially but still loving them lol), they are getting left behind. It’s a pity.

    Reply
  6. Heya lady! Thanks for the holla!

    I can confirm for you ‘n your readers that there is no Essie Holiday collection for 2014. Their Jiggly thing + the two luxeffects = winter/holiday. We won’t see anything new until 2015. I’m okay with that b/c I’ve seen the future and to me, it’s better than the present. (Can’t share more than that – you know how it is!).

    K.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

