Oy! I’ve got a Dodgy Barnett!

Posted on

Haven’t swatched a Butter London polish in a while, and what better way to lead into a half-price sale at Ulta on Butter London lacquers this Saturday, September 13th, than to show you a fun one.

It’s called Dodgy Barnett, which is Brit slang for “bad haircut.”  I don’t know why.  Dodgy Barnett is a glossy silver holographic that came out as part of BL’s Fall 2012 Collection.  It’s rather sheer and works well as a top coat, giving a cool holo sheen to the underlying color, or can be worn on its own.  Here I have one coat of it on my little finger on the right, four coats on my ring finger, and one coat of it over three coats of the dark shimmery blue Big Smoke, also from Butter London.

First under indirect outdoor light and then with the flash:

Dodgy Barnett outd

DodgyBarnett flash

The Silver Nail loves this silver polish!

About the sale at Ulta — as far as I know it’s good both in-store and online, and there are probably limits as to the number of polishes you can buy.  Be advised that if you want to take advantage of the sale in person at a store, be there when the door opens.  This is a very popular sale.  If it’s good online I plan to have items in my cart and ready to go.  Did I mention that I don’t have a local Ulta since I moved?  Good news, though, because one is opening here soon, so I can be even more of a polish and makeup pig.  Oink oink.

There are some BL colors I’d love to pick up.  One from the Fall 2012 set along with Dodgy Barnett was the sage green holo Trustafarian.  Its photo on the BL site doesn’t do it justice; instead look at these swatches from The PolishAholic.  I may want to dabble in some of the new Brick Lane shades too.

Need suggestions?  You can search The Silver Nail by using the search box on the top right hand side of the page, and I’d recommend using “Butter London” in quotation marks as the search phrase or search for the name of the particular color you have in mind, like Scuppered, one of my all-time favorite colors for fall.  Don’t forget other warm colors like Shag and The Old Bill, too.

3 responses »

  1. Yay, finally no new lemmings for me. I already have Trustafarian, Dodgy Barnett, and Scuppered. The last thing I need is new polish, but I might have to take a peek at the online stock. I already saw what was in store and I didn’t need anything. With some of the polishes I love the name so I buy them and then they sit in my untrieds or used only once pile. But Butter London has such cute names that it makes you want them. Like No More Waity Katie which I’ve only used once because it wasn’t flattering on me but I loved the name so much I had to have it. Plus being Limited Edition appealed strongly to my polish addiction/hoarder side.

    Reply
  2. Thank you, now I know what I want besides petrol.
    I just a gift card 😦 no non-US paypall (unlike sephora gift card)

    Reply
  3. Ulta doesn’t carry Trustafarian anymore – they had it as part of a 3 for $15 sale in July on discontinued (for them) BLs. You’d better believe I snapped up the last bottle. 😉 Dodgy Barnett was listed with the 3/$15s, but that Ulta had sold out.

    I got Dubs, Wallis, Brown Sugar, and All Hail The Queen from the 2/$15 sale. Can’t wait for them to get here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

