Be a Nail Junkie on a budget

Posted on

Being a polish collector doesn’t have to mean breaking the bank, as I’ve talked about many times before.  Since my move a month ago, I’m finding some polishes in my stash that I forgot I had, ones I’ve never swatched.  Think I’ll be a …. Nail Junkie!

Nail Junkie is an older polish from Sinful Colors that I believe is still available.  Sinful Colors is a brand that usually costs $1.99 for a full-size bottle but it’s often on sale for half-price at Walgreens, making it super-affordable.  And it’s not junk polish, either — some of my favorites are SCs.  See here and here, for example.

Nail Junkie is a glitter that looks dark in the bottle but much lighter on the nail.  It’s a mix of multicolored medium-to-tiny sized glitter in a sheer teal base, and it’d be hard to build up opacity on its own, so I like it as a top coat over other polishes.

Here it is by itself, three coats on my little finger, one coat over a dark blue shimmer on my ring finger, and one coat over a black on my middle (left-most) finger, under indirect outdoor light.  The photo is confusing because Nail Junkie in the bottle seems like it would look like the polish on the far left, but it doesn’t; to get that look you’d have to use it over black.

Nail Junkie

I love Nail Junkie — it gives a pretty underwater look — but don’t care for it on its own.  I like it over both the dark blue and the black.  I showed my nails to Mr. Silver Nail for the old guy adult male opinion and he liked it over the two dark colors too.  Said that by itself it looked like something more for a kid.  What do you think?  I think I need to get some more Sinful Colors pretty soon!

 

 

7 responses »

  1. I love this glitter for layering. it looks AMAZING over black. Definitely don’t like glitters like these on their own. SC has lots of awesome colors and is so much easier on the wallet! I picked this up a few years ago when it dawned on me that the name fit:)

    Reply
  2. Michelle Talavera

    This post makes me want to run out to get this polish! I love it over both of the dark polishes too. Do you think it would look good over a dark purple?

    Reply
  3. Update: Wow, this polish is a bit confusing. If you look at it at Sinful Colors’s web site, it looks emerald green which it most certainly is NOT. http://www.sinfulcolors.com/try-it-on#Nail%20Junkie Here’s an interesting blog post from 2011; apparently the formula of Nail Junkie was changed, but looks the same over black. http://www.makeupwithdrawal.com/2011/10/new-vs-old-sinful-colors-nail-junkie.html

    Reply
  4. Oooh, so pretty. I like it over the dark blue the best.

    Reply
  5. I’ve had this one for some time and really love it over almost any creme – it really pops over dark polish and adds a “fairytale” look to pastels. I have quite a few Sinfuls and really like them all. Quality polish at a discount price? What’s not to like?!?!

    Reply
  6. I love sinful colors they’re amazing quality for the price 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

