What’s your superpower?

Posted on

While most days, my superhero name would be The Hot Flash, I need to be a little kinder to myself and be reminded that, yes, I actually have some good qualities.  We all do.  Think of the good; don’t dwell on the bad.

I was reminded of this by a recent ad campaign from a regional medical center, Community Medical Center in Missoula, Montana.  They’ve been promoting their oncology center with photos and testimonials from cancer survivors.  My favorite picture is of Amber Jackson:

Amber Jackson superpower

Click on it for a larger picture.  I love everything about her in this photo — her pose, her kick-ass hair, her leather jacket, the very slight sneer that isn’t directed at any person but at The Big C.  Surely I’m not the only one reminded of Rosie the Riveter.

Rosie the Riveter

Even though (or maybe because) I love playing with nail polish and makeup, I love images of and inspiration from strong women.  Think of the strong women in your life — mothers, grandmothers, teachers, aunts, sisters, cousins.  What has made them great?  What’s your superpower?  I’m going to take a page from Amber’s book and say mine is attitude, too.

If you want to have a bit more fun, you can take this quiz.  What Is Your Superpower?  According to this, mine is flying.  COOL.  I’d take that.

And finally, if you’d like to see a movie about a superhero that’s very different, I recommend the often-dark comedy “Special” starrring Michael Rapaport.  It’s about a man named Les (sad pun alert), a loser who voluntarily enters a prescription drug trial and finds that the drug gives him amazing superpowers.  Or does it?  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpyS0AtFKE8  Warning, I found this movie so sad and pathetic in one spot that it almost hurt.  But overall a thought-provoking flick.

2 responses »

  1. My Superpower is telepathy. How cool is THAT?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

