Chemicals that hang around

Posted on

If at times it seems like I harp on a polish being 5-free or 4-free or whatever, please know that I do it because I think it’s important to know what chemicals we put in, on, and around our bodies.

For a laugh, here’s a commercial from the company Method, which makes biodegradable cleaners.  WARNING:  This ad may offend.  Really, really may offend.  I happen to find it hilarious, yet creepy.  I read this ad was banned but I’m not sure about the veracity of that.

If the embed doesn’t work, the link is:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-k9K8V2-Itw

After watching this, surely I’m not the only one with the chant of “Loo-FAH, loo-FAH!” ringing in my head, am I?

12 responses »

  1. This commercial was so hilarious I had to share it on Facebook! LOL!

    Reply
  2. OMG that’s is hysterical! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. I wonder sometimes how people come up with this stuff!

    Reply
  4. Hi Susan, good to know that you care for the chemicals in your nail polish and cosmetic. But to look for 5-free polish is not enough……I care for this problem now for some time, and the more I learn about it, the more I get worried about it.

    It began with my big love to indie-polish and it was just a question of time to make my own glitter polish. And then the “problems” started because I live in Europe and we have very strikt Cosmetic -Regulations. When I started, I ordered all the beautyfull glitters in some US-Online-shops and then my chemical advisor told me that I am not allowed to use them, as they contain toxic pigments.
    Many of the pigments are good for car-paint or industrial paints but not for cosmetic products. They may cause cancer or allergies……
    I think it is important to know about it, so you can look on the ingredients list and then decide to wear the neon polish a few times knowing about the risk, but never polish the nails of your kids with it.

    Maybe this is a theme for a next post in your blog??

    And a comment to the video.. I would be much more concernd about the shampoo the women uses as about the cleaner of the bathroom….

    Regards from France
    Andrea , another nailpolish addict (not yet 50 but not so far away….:-))

    Reply
  5. OK, that commercial was hilarious and every time I use the “loofa” from now on I will be chanting, “looFAH, looFAH” in my head. Thanks a pantload, Susan! 😉

    Reply
  6. That was funny. At first I thought they were kind of cute, then they turned kind of creepy, as you pointed out. I always enjoy your choice of videos.

    Reply
  7. It’s truly funny !! I wonder who finds it offensive ???!

    Reply
  8. I love Method. I’ve had their pink grapefruit hand soap in my bathroom forever. I love that they promote refill rather than throw out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

