The Tickled Collection from Zoya — full review!

Posted on

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

Hope you enjoyed my review of the new Bubbly Collection as much as I enjoyed doing it!  Today, let’s get Tickled.

Tickled is Zoya’s other new six-polish set for summer 2014.  All of these are cremes, although I see a faint silver shimmer to Rocha in the bottle.

Zoya Tickled preview

Zoya Tickled and Bubbly3

Zoya Tickled bottles

Left to right:

  • Rocha
  • Wendy
  • Kitridge
  • Rooney
  • Ling
  • Tilda

As you can see, they generally correspond in color to the glitters of the Bubbly Collection, but not exactly.  Rocha and Wendy aren’t yellow-oranges like Alma and Jesy are.

The formula of all six was great, very smooth, and every single one covered well with two coats.  Without a top coat under indirect bright sunshine:

Rocha is a warm red-orange.  Zoya calls it a “folly red,” a term I’ve never heard and for which I can’t find a definition.  Whatever, it’s bright!  And it’s more orange than red to me.  It’s pretty but I feel that it makes my skin look grayish, and that it would look much better on someone with a warm skin tone.  Would make a great pedicure color.  Hopefully you can see the silver shimmer in the bottle, but it doesn’t translate to the nail.

Zoya Tickled Rocha

Wendy is like Rocha toned way, way down, a warm melon-like pink-orange.  Nice, but doesn’t thrill me.

Zoya Tickled Wendy

Kitridge is a classic bubblegum pink, cool to neutral.  I love pinks like this and probably own waaaaay too many.  Yet it’s a more neutral pink than some of Zoya’s other similar shades, which sometimes lean lavender.  Kitridge was just a tad streaky.

Zoya Tickled Kitridge

Rooney is a medium magenta pink, almost purplish enough to call orchid, also cool to neutral.  Love this one!

Zoya Tickled Rooney

Ling is also cool to neutral, a medium blue that’s somehow both bright and has a slight gray tone.  Not sky blue, not navy; Zoya calls it royal blue but I think of royal blue as darker and more intense.  Semantics.

Zoya Tickled Ling

Tilda is a warm pistachio green, a little darker than lime.  Zoya uses the description “mantis green,” but I’d always rather use food allusions than insect ones!  I’m not a fan of this color on me but know many people are excited about Tilda, which is wonderful.

Zoya Tickled Tilda

My impressions:  Overall a very nice, summery set of cremes.  If that sounds like faint praise, well, it takes something really special from a creme polish to wow me these days.  If you don’t already own a tsunami of creme polishes like moi, then you can find some really good summer shades in the Tickled Collection.  My favorite, and the one I think I’d wear the most, is Rooney, and I like Ling a lot too.  The warmer tones of Rocha, Wendy, and Tilda don’t flatter my skin, but your mileage may vary.  One excellent attribute of this set is that all six colors covered well in just two coats.

Maybe you’re all about cremes and don’t like glitters.  If so, Tickled is right up your alley.  😀

Zoya Tickled six swatches

I hope to post lots of comparisons this weekend — Bubbly and Tickled shades to older Zoya colors.  Any you particularly want to see?  I don’t have every Zoya, but if I have it I’ll compare it.

Zoya polishes are 5-Free — free of toluene, camphor, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, and dibutyl phthalate (DBP).  The Tickled polishes are $9 each at Zoya.com .

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

11 responses »

  1. Yep, I did good by not ordering the entire collection. I only ordered Tilda and I’m happy with my choice! Thank you SO MUCH for putting out this review so quickly! Have a fantastic weekend! XOXOXO

    Reply
    • You’re welcome! Bet Tilda will look great on you. 🙂 My skin is so weird with green polish; for example, Tilda didn’t grab me yet Stassi yesterday did. Have a great weekend too!

      Reply
  2. Love that your doing comparisons to some older Zoya colors. This really helps me make a decision I can feel good about, seeing that my polish funds are going to be quite limited now. I have to be a little more particular, and take a little more time choosing. So, I’ll be checking in. Love all your swatches by the way. Your pictures are so beautiful. Thanks so much.

    Reply
  3. Great swatches … I am just not sure what to buy unless I see it reviewed !! :))

    Reply
  4. awesome, i love your swatches and will definitely appreciate the comparison posts. I love Zoyas and have a lot, and while I love to buy more I like to spend my money wisely by avoiding near dupes 😉 I love Ling, but have been wondering how it compares to Robyn…

    Reply
  5. I was wondering how Tilda might compare with Josie? Rooney is now on my wishlist. Nice swatches!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Zoya comparison-fest, again | The Silver Nail

  7. Pingback: Reader request — Layering with pink Zoyas | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

