The Awaken Collection from Zoya — it’s here!!

Posted on

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

Zoya_Nail_Polish_Awaken_Launch_2014_image4_620web

Just tackled the poor FedEx delivery driver.  I’ve been watching online as my spring Awaken Collection with Monet topper from Zoya made its way across the U.S. and finally it’s here.  Most of the individual colors have been shipping for some time, but one color, Hudson, was delayed and therefore held up the 6-piece samplers.  But like when your teenage child comes driving up at midnight, you’re just glad they’re home.  You might grumble a bit but all is forgiven.

ZOYA_AWAKEN_2014_452

Left to right:

  • Dillon
  • Rebel
  • Hudson
  • Dot
  • Cole
  • Brooklyn

plus Monet (not included in the Awaken Collection; available separately)

ZOYA_POLISH_MONET_450

Dillon, Rebel,  and Hudson are foils, Dot and Cole are cremes, and Brooklyn is a shimmer.  Monet is a multicolored “cellophane” topper — holo hex glitter in a sheer pink base.  Let’s get to ’em!

All six Awaken polishes had an excellent formula and I used three coats of each.  Keep in mind not to overwork the foils for a nice, smooth look.  Photos are under indirect bright snowy outdoor light.

Dillon is a gorgeous light mint green foil.  I don’t know what it is, but most mint greens make my skin look red.  Not Dillon!
Awaken Dillon
Rebel is a robin’s egg blue with perhaps a hint of teal.  Lots of silver-gold sparkle.
Awaken Rebel
Hudson is an Easter egg lavender with a lot of sparkle, too.
Awaken Hudson
Dot is a milky pale baby pink previously released in a limited edition Zang Toi trio where it was called Ballet Babe.  The first coat was sheer but by the third coat it gave good coverage and self-leveled very well.  A classic petal pink.
Awaken Dot
Cole is a warm peach creme with a fun creamsicle look.  It was called Stella in an earlier LE Peter Som trio.  Pretty, but peach/orange is one of the hardest colors for me to wear personally, because of my skin tone.  I think it’d look better on lighter or darker or warmer skin.  In other words, just about everyone else!
Awaken Cole
Brooklyn is a pale gold shimmer, almost a white gold.  Classy, but it showed brushstrokes the most.  Wish it had been a foil finish too.
Awaken Brooklyn

Monet has a thick formula and I had to fish for the glitter a little, plus it tended to bunch up at the ends of my nails.  It looks more noticeable and prettier over some colors than over others.  Here it is, one coat plus a few extra dabs, over each Awaken polish.

Awaken Dillon M

Awaken Rebel M

Awaken Hudson M

Awaken Dot M

Awaken Cole M

Awaken Brooklyn M

I love the Awaken Collection.  It’s got all my favorite spring colors — mint green, cool blue, cheery lavender, petal pink. Overall I think Awaken is Zoya’s best spring or summer collection since the foil goodness of Surf two years ago.  My favorites?  Ooh, that’s tough, truly.  I couldn’t pick just one; I’d have to have at least Dillon, Rebel, and Hudson, plus I like all the others, too.

Tomorrow, when I’m not so pressed for time, I plan to compare these new colors to some of Zoya’s older ones.

Zoya polishes are 5-Free — free of toluene, camphor, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, and dibutyl phthalate (DBP).  The Awaken polishes are $9 each and the Monet topper is $10 at Zoya.com .

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

5 responses »

  1. Love the swatches, and am looking forward to some comparisons with some older polishes. I have to admit that for the 1st time since buying Zoya, I’m feeling a bit forgotten, since the order I placed on Jan 16 has not even shipped. Yes, Hudson was one of them (along with Lux and Monet), and I know there were delays with that color. And, I know it was a pre-order. I’ve called twice(not to complain), but to check on my order. This is the longest I’ve had to wait, and I’m just pouting a bit. Hopefully this week, I’ll see some progress. I’m sure I’m not the only one. But, aside from my whining a bit,now that I’m seeing your swatches of Dillon and Rebel, I’m putting those on my wish list. Thanks, Suzy

    Reply
    • I was pouting too. It’s frustrating when one’s order is held up by one color. But you WILL get them!

      I surprised myself at how much I love Dillon. Greens are hit or miss with me & Dillon’s a keeper.

      Reply
  2. Oooooh dear. That minty Dillon would go perfectly with the Sminty watch I just bought from Swatch( finally bought a new watch..yay! ) Might have to splurge on that one. I will tell myself it’s o.k since I haven’t bought new polish since summer.I never seem to wear much polish in the winter.hmm. Well now, I guess I’ll stop rambling on and on now..Thanks for the swatches!
    Steph

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Let’s compare — spring foils from Zoya | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

