A vampy Zoya from New York Fashion Week

Posted on

I keep checking the Zoya news from New York Fashion Week (NYFW) and frankly, very little of it thrills me so far.  It’s been going on for days and the Zoya looks so far can be summed up in three words:  nude, black, dark red.  Wait, that’s four words.

The nude/neutral with or without black look, seen here from Peter Som, here from Mark and Estel, and here from Rolando Santana all have a samey-same look that makes my eyes glaze over.  I was hoping for a little more variety.  Several designers are showing a dark red nail look:  Zana Bayne used Norra, Zimmermann used Sam, Alexandre Herchcovitch used Sasha (along with the ubiquitous neutral), and Noon by Noor used Norra too.  I particularly loathe the “nude nail with a black or red half-moon at the cuticle” look, which I call the “I slammed my fingers in a drawer ’til they bled” look.

There are still three designers to go — Maria Cornejo, Timo Weiland, and Zang Toi.  Is it too much to hope for something different??

At any rate, I do own two of those dark reds, so let me show you Norra.  It really is gorgeous.  Norra is a dark, vampy wine red that seems to have brown tones in some light and purple ones in another.  It has a very slight silver shimmer but mostly looks like a creme on the nail.

The formula was good and I used three coats, no top coat.  Under indirect snowysnowysnowy outdoor light:

Norra

You can really see the shimmer in the bottle.

I love this color although probably won’t wear it again ’til fall; it’s so dark.  Would be pretty for a nighttime look as well.  I’d recommend wearing something this dark a red on relatively short nails, because on long nails a dark blood red runs the risk of looking creepy or witchy.

********************

EDIT:  2/12/14, two more designers have shown their Zoya looks.  Maria Cornejo used Purity (white) and Timo Weiland used Claudine (very dark gray).  Just kill me now.  Save us from mediocrity, Zang Toi!!!!

4 responses »

  1. It really should be my goal to just own every Zoya color; they’re all so pretty. Thanks for this swatch!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Happy Valentine’s Day from Zoya! | The Silver Nail

  3. Pingback: News from New York Fashion Week and Zoya | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

