These are a few of my favorite greens

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Kind of busy around the ol’ Silver Nail household so I’m a bit behind on swatching and posting.  I’m taking an easy way out today and am going to show you some previous swatches, greens that I’ve really liked.  Then tell you about a great movie for St. Paddy’s Day.

As I’ve mentioned numerous times, green polish is hard for me to wear.  Many shades give me “lobster hands” — that is, the contrast makes my skin look unnaturally red.  But I’ve found some real winners.  My latest favorite is the new Dillon from Zoya’s spring Awaken Collection.

Awaken Dillon

Kind of a light seafoam green.  Two Butter Londons I like are Jack the Lad and British Racing Green:

Jack the Lad outd

British Racing Green outd light

Another from Zoya called Hunter:

Hunter

Spanish Moss from Revlon, a hard-to-find gray-green:

Spanish Moss

Here’s an unusual green and black glitter topcoat from China Glaze called Graffiti Glitter, shown over a pale mint green creme called Neely from Zoya:

Graffiti Glitter outd light

Paddy’s Pint from SquareHue (was limited, no longer available):

Pattys Pint outd light

You can see I gravitate towards the dark greens.  I’m not showing any yellow-greens because those tend to look pretty dreadful on me.

Finally, if you’re in the mood for an Irish movie to watch tonight and can’t stomach yet another viewing of “The Quiet Man,” may I suggest the dark comedy “Waking Ned Devine” (1998).  It’s available on Netflix streaming and has some lovely Irish scenery.

Waking Ned Devine pic

The title is a wonderful pun, with “waking” meaning both the “wake up” and the “have a wake for” sense.  It’s mostly a comedy but you’d certainly have to call it a dark one, since a lot of the jokes come at the expense of the death of one or more characters.

Waking Ned Devine pic2

Starring Ian Bannen, David Kelly, and Fionnula Flanagan, it’s a wonderful tale of money, luck, secrets, love, switched identities, and most of all, friendship.  It also contains the most hilarious nude scene I’ve ever seen in my entire life; I laughed ’til I cried.  Sure, it might be offensive, but if you’re offended by a very old, very thin, naked old man who makes his getaway on a motorbike after skinny-dipping, well, I’d say lighten up.

Have a great holiday and tip back a beer for me!

About The Silver Nail

A 55-year-young who thinks the world needs -- nay, demands! -- a blog about nail polish, skin care, and makeup for us older women. All ages welcome!

9 responses »

  1. Pretty greens! I forgot about Jack the Lad as an option I have. I had planned to do multiple green & gold combos, but my Colors by Llarowe Mojito and Zoya Tomoko have held up beautifully since last Thursday, despite some cleaning over the weekend.

    By the way: love Fionnula Flanagan!! Data’s mother on Star Trek TNG. :)

    Reply
  2. I recommend China Glaze Four Leaf Clover. It’s Crayola crayon green and doesn’t leave you lobster-y at all.

    I was going to marathon a little bit of “Father Ted” today, but your suggestion sounds like a good idea.

    Reply
  3. I’ve been seeing Spanish Moss pop up a lot at Big Lots for 1.50 ! Love the greens, love the movie !

    Reply
  4. This is a much better movie suggestion than the one I made- Leprechaun ;) Would you happen to have any suggestions of what to get when Ulta does 2/$15 Butter London this week? I only have Cuppa, Jasper, The Black Knight, Scuppered & British Racing Green. I know I want Jaffa…

    Reply
  5. Have you checked out Suvi from Zoya? Beautiful color! Essie also has some great greens — Pretty Edgy (crayola green) First Timer, and Sew Psyched are all favorites of mine.

    Reply
  6. I was going to post a pic of my green manicure using Zoya Logan and Ziv on the Zoya Facebook for the 1st time, along with my big oversized green ring. Even taking into account my not so good nails, and my not so good digital camera. But, after posting, I discovered it went on my timeline for all my friends to see, and I wasn’t liking that, so I quickly deleted it. It never posts my comments I put on Zoya Facebook to my own Facebook, so I was surprised. Anyway, I loved all the green polish comparisons. I’m still waiting for those summer colors. Happy St Patricks Day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,085 other followers

