Zoya Satins — the review

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

I’ve been looking forward to Zoya’s fall set of shimmers/metallics, Satins, since I first read about them.  They just arrived on my doorstep today so it was serious swatch time.  Unfortunately the light is not cooperating — after a month of heat and bright sunshine, today is dark and rainy.  We need the rain but it sure plays havoc with my camera.

Enough whining, let’s look at these beautiful polishes!

Satins set

Left to right:  Maria-Luisa, Channing, Mason, Claudine, Neve, and Giovanna

Maria-Luisa is a top coat consisting of small irregular gold flakes in a clear base.  The other five polishes are shimmers/metallics and each covered well in two coats.  Photos are under indirect outdoor light unless otherwise stated.

Channing was the one I was looking forward to the most.  I saw the perfect fall red with a copper tone, and that is indeed how it looks in photos, even mine.  But in real life, Channing strikes me as much more copper than red.

Channing outd

It’s gorgeous, just not as red as I was expecting.  Still screams, “Fall!” to me though.  And while Zoya calls it cool in tone, I’d definitely say it’s warm and has a gold shimmer.

Mason is a shimmery red-violet, and I think I see sparks of hot pink and maybe copper.  Something different for autumn if you don’t want brown tones.

Mason outd light

Zoya calls Claudine a “striking dark meteorite gray metallic.”  Alas, I have no meteorites on hand to compare it to.  It is a very dark, chic gray, almost black.  It almost seems to have a greenish tone.

Claudine outd

Neve is a stunner, a sapphire blue metallic.  It was previously seen — but not released — as Catherine the Great in a fashion show by Zang Toi this past spring.

Neve outd

I’ve got to show you Neve under the flash as well:

Neve flash

It’s like a dark, mysterious star-filled night sky.

Finally, Giovanna is an ultra-fashionable emerald green with a faint blue duochrome shift.  This, too, was previously shown as a Zang Toi color, Chinoiserie Fantasy, and it was released in a limited edition trio, which I bought.  Here’s a photo taken months ago of my Chinoiserie Fantasy:

Chinoiserie Fantasy outd light

Comparing my new, unopened bottle of Giovanna and my bottle of Chinoiserie Fantasy, they are identical.  I turned them over and over, looking at them under different lighting, and I see no difference at all.  So I’m keeping Giovanna unopened so I can give it away to one of my readers in the future.  :-D  To see more pictures of this snazzy emerald, see my post about the Zang Toi trio here.

Finally, the top coat, Maria-Luisa.  I thought it would be, “Ho hum, another gold top coat.  Yawn,” but no.  I love it!  The flakes are plenty thick, no having to fish for them with the brush.  I like that the gold look comes from flakes instead of hex glitter, which I am so tired of.  Here’s how Maria-Luisa looks over Neve:

Neve with Maria-Luisa

Whoa, maybe a little too much bling going on there for my taste.  Neve is sparkly enough on its own without putting Maria-Luisa on each nail.  I think M-L would be great for just one accent nail, or would look more special over creme polishes instead of sparkly metallics, so I’ll definitely show it in my review of the Cashmeres Collection tomorrow.

And although I’m going to have a separate post in a few days with comparisons of the Satins to other polishes, I wanted to go ahead and show Maria-Luisa compared to Zoya’s Gilty, a real 18K gold top coat that’s no longer available.  Here are both over Channing, M-L on the left and Gilty on the right, with the bottle of M-L.

Channing w ML and Gilty

The flakes of Gilty might actually show up better, but overall I prefer Maria-Luisa.  The flakes in Gilty are comparatively sparse and almost have to be dabbed on individually, plus some are so large as to be awkward.

Impressions of the Satins Collection:

  • My surprise favorite is Neve.  It’s the one where I kept holding my hand out at arm’s length, turning my hand this way and that, mentally oohing and aahing.  I have a ton of blue polishes but Neve has really grabbed me.
  • Giovanna, the artist previously known as Chinoiserie Fantasy, is great too.  Emerald green is THE fashion color of the year, if you care about things like that.
  • I like the gold top coat Maria-Luisa much more than I thought I would.  It’s not “just another top coat.”
  • I was surprised that Channing was more copper and less red than I expected.  Still, I like it a lot; it’s going to look great with denim.
  • Mason is beautiful but I think I already have one or two very close colors.
  • Claudine is interesting but since I don’t wear much black or very dark gray, it’s not “me.”  Has kind of an industrial, geek-chic look.

SRP is $8 per 0.5 oz/15 ml bottle.  Available at http://www.zoya.com and at select retailers and salons.

Disclosure:  These polishes were sent by Zoya for review.

P.S.  If there are specific polishes you’d like me to compare, just drop me a note in the comments.  If I have ‘em, I’ll compare ‘em!

About The Silver Nail

A 55-year-young who thinks the world needs -- nay, demands! -- a blog about nail polish, skin care, and makeup for us older women. All ages welcome!

10 responses »

  1. So pretty. Can’t decide which 2 of the Satins I have I want to wear first, either Channing or Mason, or one of my new PixieDust polishes. Decisions, decisions. And, that Maria-Luisa looks interesting. Might put that one on my wish list. Thanks for posting.

    Reply
  2. Neve and Claudine are stunners! There’s nothing I love more than fall polish collections, and this one does not disappoint.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Zoya Cashmeres — the review | The Silver Nail

  4. Pingback: Zoya comparison-fest | The Silver Nail

  5. These are all so gorgeous! I think Mason is my favorite. I love Zoya! :)

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Zoya BOGO sale!! | The Silver Nail

  7. Pingback: Cover Girl’s Inferno | The Silver Nail

  8. Pingback: Jessica’s 2013 Fall Collection — A Night at the Opera | The Silver Nail

  9. Pingback: Dream Boxes from Zoya and a Thanksgiving week screamin’ deal | The Silver Nail

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,944 other followers

